Where’s the Hole in Jackson Hole?

Though it was early June and we had already traveled through rain and blizzards, we were hopeful we’d be able to hike the Tetons. We parked our rig just outside Rexburg, Idaho, and soon discovered a few things:

  • If managers were on site at the campground, they were invisible.
  • The self-registration process was a little backwards: signs were emphatic about registering BEFORE parking, but the registration form required a site number… and without a map there was no way to register without driving through and selecting a site, which — everybody knows — means it makes more sense to just park while you’re at it.

We were still setting up when a dog came bounding over from a rig nearby. Barking and growling, I stood on the top step in front of the door, trying to shoo him away, but that only seemed to make him angrier. When I caught sight of a woman coming from the dog’s RV I called out to her: “Could you call your dog, please? We’re allergic!” She looked at me as though I was out of my mind. Maybe she didn’t understand me, so I yelled again. Finally she called the dog off, but (to make a long story short) only a call that eventually roused the invisible manager got her to keep the dog leashed so we could go from our truck to our fifth wheel without worrying about that dog coming at us again.

The incident made us wonder if the peace and quiet after that disappointing week in Salt Lake city would elude us.

The neighbor on the other side was very nice. When we mentioned the odd registration instructions he shrugged and said, “I’ve been here four days now and haven’t registered yet. I guess I should go do that.”

At least we could walk the perimeter of the small lake and watch the local Killdeer.

When we made the drive to Jackson Hole, we couldn’t help wondering about these amazing half-buried farm structures… are they barns? Storage buildings? Not sure, but old or new, they were still serving some important purpose:

The drive was longer than we expected, and we could tell from the snow we found on the mountain pass that it was still early for hiking.

Jackson, Wyoming, is commonly called “Jackson Hole,” and is known for skiing. It’s probably a rowdy ski town when the snow is measured in feet…

…but even on this off-season, early June day the town bustled with tourists. Maybe we missed the shopping area and landed squarely in the lodging section of town, because we mostly saw motels and taverns (maybe that’s all skiers are interested in). Oh, well, no shopping meant no buying!

We did happen upon the Lotus Cafe where we had a great lunch in a nice atmosphere:

Bob’s checking our location on the GPS. It’s a great way to wander around a strange town without having to keep track of which streets you walked, where you parked, and trying to find your way back again! He marks where the truck is when we park, and when we’re ready to go back, he just has the GPS route us back to the truck. How cool is that?!?

We waited through the inevitable road construction delays (who said the stimulus money wasn’t helping?!? We’ve sure seen signs of a lot of work being done on our highways and byways!)…

… and were rewarded with a glimpse of what is probably a fledgling Osprey:

Even so, the 90 minutes it took us to get there and the two hour drive back meant it was our only trip over the Teton Pass. Why go through that again?!?

Once the campground manager spoke to the neighbor about her dog, we settled into a pleasant stay there, and enjoyed Rexburg. If I were to describe Rexburg, Idaho, to someone who had never been there, I would tell them they will see more young men wearing dark pants and ties in one place than they probably ever will anywhere else. The pizza buffet at Craigo’s was an awesome deal for great food, and the Survival Store was well worth a visit, if only for curiosity’s sake.

The bead selection in Porter’s, the local crafts store, caught my eye — I couldn’t resist purchasing supplies to make a bracelet. I bought a safety pin bracelet at a crafts sale in Michigan several years ago and every time I wear it I get compliments, so I’d often thought about making my own. Now I saw everything I needed to give it a try.

What do you think?!?

About Ellen

Fiction writer and photographer, I travel the country with my sweetheart of a husband as a "full-time RVer."
This entry was posted in Animals, Birds, Interesting Stories, National Parks, RV Parks & Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where’s the Hole in Jackson Hole?

  1. cindycindy says:

    Your bracelet is very beachy ! I appreciate that even while you are out there discovering the west, you still need a little starfish in your day !

    • Ellen says:

      Thanks, Cindy! Welcome to our Adventures Blog!That bracelet has now found a new home… but I’m making more. It seems every time I wear one, I end up parting with it because someone sees it and falls in love with it and buys it right off my wrist! Watch for more blog posts about the bracelets 🙂

  2. libertatemamo says:

    Love the bracelet! My kind of crazy 🙂

Leave a Reply

