OBX in the Spring

Being on the ocean shore of North Carolina during early April meant birds were enjoying the warm weather on the beach as much as we were.

This Whimbrel casually scoured the waves, looking for a tasty morsel…

obxredux3

…while a male Black-Bellied Plover did his best to spot things first:

obxredux4

Meantime, a sandpiper (left) and Ruddy Turnstone (right) took a breather:

obxredux5

Watching the birds, I sometimes felt as though they were watching me:

obxredux9

I tried to get a great shot of a bird in flight…

obxredux7

…and tried:

obxredux6

The professional shots make it look so easy! Obviously, I need to keep practicing (but that’s the fun of it, isn’t it?).

obxredux8

Sitting in a restaurant along a harbor on the Pamlico Sound, we watched this Common Loon (somewhere between its winter and summer colorings) swim…

obxredux10

…dive…

obxredux11

…and come up successful!

obxredux12

We drove our Jeep right onto the beach, almost up to the waterline, watching the waves through our bug-splattered windshield…

obxredux2

…where we parked and strolled the edge of beach grass to watch sand crabs (this one might be a ghost crab, but it might not…):

obxredux1

And it was a great place to eyeball the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse.

obxredux13

The kiteboarders took advantage of the usual breezes off Pamlico Sound to hone their skills…

obxredux14

…and doing a great job of keeping their kites from getting all tangled up!

obxredux15

Some even got some serious air time:

obxredux16

But this was all the calm before the storm….!

About Ellen

Fiction writer and photographer, I travel the country with my sweetheart of a husband as a "full-time RVer."
This entry was posted in and Critters in General, Attractions, Birds, Cool Experience and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OBX in the Spring

  1. Ingrid says:

    Bird photography can be addictive and the delete button and I are well acquainted 😆 I always look forward to our visits to the coast.

  2. Ellen says:

    I need to get more ruthless with that Delete button…. I keep thinking things like, “Hmm…. maybe I could blur that one some more and use it as a background for something….” or something like that. I tell myself a camera with more settings would help but I don’t want to carry the weight nor the extra lenses to get the versatility I have now. I could learn a lot from you, Ingrid! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

