Wildest Wildlife

I got so wrapped up in telling you about all the cool wildlife we saw on our visit to Theodore Roosevelt National Park last July (especially spotting that Golden Eagle) that I nearly forgot one of our wildest wildlife experiences of all while we were there!

First, let’s set the scene. We’d been out driving the dirt and gravel roads just beyond the park boundaries. A car sped by (making us wonder where in the world they were going in such a hurry), and far up ahead I saw the scrambling of four-legged animals.

wildest1

I scanned the hillsides, using my camera’s zoom lens like binoculars…

wildest2

…and then:

wildest3

wildest4

They paraded along the steep edge of the hill as if they were being judged in a livestock show.

wildest5

We watched these stunning mountain goats until they wandered around a bend and out of our sight.

wildest6

Then, just as we were headed back home, another creature caught our eye. We’d seen its cousins in the park, but this one seemed a little more curious about us, or maybe posing for a portrait:

wildest7

Now this is what it’s all about!

About Ellen

Fiction writer and photographer, I travel the country with my sweetheart of a husband as a "full-time RVer."
This entry was posted in Animals, Cool Experience, Off-Roading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wildest Wildlife

  1. Amazing what those mountain goats can do!

    • Ellen says:

      You are so right, Beth! And this is exactly why I use them as examples when people point at me and laugh when they spot me on a steep trail on my hands and knees 🙂 Four points of contact, right? Travel safe!

Leave a Reply

